Home Feature Flooding: NEMA declares national disaster in five more states

Flooding: NEMA declares national disaster in five more states


The National Emergency Management Agency on Thursday declared a national disaster in five more states following the devastating floods that ravaged the states.

It outlined the five states as Adamawa, Taraba, Rivers, Kebbi and Bayelsa, adding that this was despite the ongoing efforts to tackle and assist flood victims.

“This has brought to nine the number of states under national disaster caused by flood devastation,” the Head, Media and Public Relations, Sani Datti, told our correspondent in Abuja.

Recall that on September 17, 2018, a national disaster was declared in Kogi, Niger, Delta and Anambra states by NEMA.

The Director-General, NEMA, Mustapha Maihaja, said, “In consideration of the data and information being received, particularly the Preliminary Damage Assessment, and guided by relevant NEMA policy documents, additional five states are observed to have been impacted severely by the disaster.

“Upon consultation and subsequent endorsement of all the stakeholders here present, and the delegation of authority conferred on me by the President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, I, Mustapha Maihaja, the Director-General of NEMA, hereby declare national disaster in the five states of Adamawa, Bayelsa, Kebbi, Rivers and Taraba.”

He commended the efforts and commitments of all stakeholders, as well as international partners for their contributions so far to the success of the operation.

“This is highly appreciated,” Maihaja said.

He said, “The additional five states have expanded the scope and the need for response and, therefore,  calls for more support accordingly.”

The NEMA boss promised that the agency would continue to work hard to assist victims of floods in the various affected states.

Meanwhile, the Senate has lamented the spate of flooding across the country, urging the Federal Government to find a lasting solution to the environmental disaster. It said the flood had so far spread to 34 states.

The upper chamber of the National Assembly raised concerns about the flood at the plenary on Thursday when the lawmakers adopted a motion moved by Senators Kabiru Gaya and Stella Oduah, together with 105 others.

The Senate unanimously granted the prayers of the motion, including to urge the National Emergency Management Agency to send relief materials to the victims across the states of the federation.

The chamber also urged the Federal Government to reconvene a stakeholders’ meeting to X-ray the recurring situation “with a view to proffering a lasting solution to flood disasters.”

Another prayer granted was to urge the Federal Ministry of Water Resources to rehabilitate existing dams to be able to take in flood waters, while commending NEMA, PCFR and other relevant agencies, organisations and individuals whose efforts in creating awareness had led to a reduction in casualty level. Punch



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here